Lawrence Cabin 

This small log house is typical of the first homes four early settlers built originally on the bank of Darby Creek at Old West Chester Pike. It was relocated by the Haverford Township Historical Society in 1961 when threatened by destruction.


David Lawrence was one of the early Welsh settlers in Haverford Township. He emigrated with his wife Elinor Ellis and her family in 1684, and took up part of his father-in-law’s land grant. His son Henry Lawrence purchased 209 acres along Darby Creek in 1709. It has not been determined whether the log house pre-dates this purchase but a 2-1/2 story stone addition was built circa 1730, and later a clapboard summer kitchen was added. It became known as the Three Generation House, and remained in Lawrence family ownership until 1942. 


A large fireplace dominates the first floor room, with a ladder leading to the sleeping loft. The house is furnished appropriately in the period before 1750, and is used for the Colonial Living Experience provided by The Haverford Township Historical Society for elementary school students.